Nataraj Meditation

OSHO Nataraj Meditation

Nataraj is the energy of dance. This is dance as a total meditation, where all inner division disappears and a subtle, relaxed awareness remains.
The meditation is to be done with its specific OSHO Nataraj Meditation music, which indicates and energetically supports the different stages.
For the music availability, see below.


The meditation lasts 65 minutes and has three stages.


First Stage: 40 minutes

With eyes closed, dance as if possessed. Let your unconscious take over completely. Do not control your movements or be a witness to what is happening. Just be totally in the dance.


Second Stage: 20 minutes

Keeping your eyes closed, lie down immediately. Be silent and still.


Third Stage: 5 minutes

Dance in celebration and enjoy.

Some suggestions from Osho for this meditation:

“Forget the dancer, the center of the ego. Become the dance. That is the meditation. Dance so deeply that you completely forget that you are dancing and begin to feel that you are the dance. The division must disappear; then it becomes a meditation. If there is division, then it is an exercise: good, healthy, but it cannot be said to be spiritual. It is just a simple dance. Dance is good in itself. As far as it goes, it is good. After it, you will feel fresh, young. But it is not yet meditation. The dancer must go until only the dance remains.

“Don’t stand aside, don’t be an observer – participate!

“And be playful. Remember this word playful. With me, it is very basic.”

“Dance is one of the deepest meditations possible, for the simple reason that when dance reaches to its climax the dancer disappears. There is only dance – there is nobody dancing.”

“And then there is an awareness which is not of the mind and not of the ego. In fact, that awareness cannot be practiced; something else has to be done as a preparation, and that awareness comes to you. You have just to become available for it.”